Hong Kong is situated at the mouth of the Pearl River Delta at the southern tip of The People’s Republic of China. The Delta connects Hong Kong to Macau and Guangdong province (formerly Canton), and Hong Kong lies just south of the Tropic of Cancer at approximately the same latitude as Mexico City, the Bahamas and Hawaii.

Hong Kong is divided into four main areas – Hong Kong Island, Kowloon, the New Territories and the Outlying Islands (of which there are over 200). Kowloon and the New Territories are on the northern side of Victoria Harbour on a peninsula of the Chinese Mainland, and Hong Kong Island is on the south side of the Harbour, facing Kowloon.

A little known fact is that more than 70% of the territory is countryside, and 21 Country Parks account for 40% of the rural land area.